Presentation

Winegrowers from generation to generation in Maisdon-sur-Sèvre

At the origins of the Domaine Girard

In the Girard family, muscadet goes back to the 1940s-1950s when at the Rebourgère, a hamlet of Maisdon-sur-Sèvre, between two rivers (the Sèvre and the Main), at the heart of the vineyard of the region of Nantes, Gaston had to work from an early age for the family farm. He was the only son of Marcel and Gabrielle Girard and helped his mother, a brave and ambitious woman with a strong character. She had just lost her husband who came from the war with illness. At this time, like in most farms, they did mixed farming: some cattle, some cereal crop and some vine.

An audacious outlook

In 1961, Gaston married Georgette, a young woman from a nearby village called La Haie-Fouassière. Together, they never stopped making the plantation grow, giving up mixed farming and cattle to focus on the vine only. In the 1970s, they developed direct selling, being pioneers of this type of marketing. While Gaston was dealing with the wine-making process, the whole family was busy with the bottling, the labelling and the wrapping of the product. At the end of the week the family had to cross Brittany, Normandy and the region of Nantes to deliver wine to the cafés, the restaurants and the private clients. First with a car and a trailer, that were soon replaced by a Citroën “H” van. What an adventure!

Between legacy and modernity

histoireThe third generation came with Patrick, the son of the family. From his first steps, he followed his father in the vines. After studying wine-making, he joined his father on the plantation in 198*. After a few years working with his parents, he took over the plantation in 1991, when Gaston retired. However 1991 was a peculiar year, Patrick married Martine in May but the month before the vine froze and the crop was annihilated. But Patrick and Martine overcame these difficulties with bravery and ambition, and years after years, with experience and knowledge acquired by the former generations, improved by the modern technics in the vines and in the wine cellar, they made the familial plantation grow.

The Domaine Girard nowadays

The motto of the family is the quality of the work, the precision and the flawless quality of the wine that was awarded multiple times with gold, silver and bronze at the different competition in Paris, Nantes, Vertou and Maisdon-sur-Sèvre. Today the Domaine Girard counts 93 acres of vine in reasoned culture. 60% of the crop is sold directly and the range of wine is diversified. Patrick works at the shaping of the vine, at the wine making and the commercialisation, Martine works at the wine cellar, she prepares the orders and she deals with administrative and accounting work. The 4th generation is now arriving with Guillaume, Patrick and Martine’s son. Since 2013 and after studying wine-making and marketing, he works with his parents on the plantation, combining, like his father before him, tradition and modernity.

Présentation


Vignerons de génération en génération à Maisdon-sur-Sèvre

Aux origines du Domaine de la Rebourgère

Le Muscadet dans la famille Girard, cela remonte aux années 1940-1950 lorsqu’à la Rebourgère, un village de Maisdon-sur-Sèvre entre Sèvre et Maine, au cœur du vignoble Nantais, Gaston doit travailler très jeune sur l’exploitation agricole familiale. Seul enfant de Marcel et Gabrielle Girard, il aide sa mère, une femme courageuse, ambitieuse et au caractère affirmé, qui vient de perdre son mari revenu malade de la guerre. A cette époque, comme dans la plupart des exploitations, il s’agissait surtout de polyculture : un peu de bétail, un peu de culture céréalière et un peu de vigne.

Une vision audacieuse

En 1961, Gaston épouse Georgette, une jeune femme de La Haie-Fouassière commune viticole voisine. Ensemble ils n’auront de cesse de faire grandir cette exploitation, en abandonnant la polyculture et le bétail pour se consacrer uniquement à la culture de la vigne. Dans les années 1970, ils développent la vente directe et sont alors précurseurs dans ce type de commercialisation. Tandis que Gaston s’occupe de la vinification, toute la famille s’active pour la mise en bouteilles, l’étiquetage et l’emballage, puis en fin de semaine il faut sillonner la Bretagne, la Normandie et la région Nantaise pour livrer les cafés, les restaurants et les particuliers. D’abord avec voiture et remorque, qui seront vite remplacées par un utilitaire Citroën « H ». Quelle aventure !

histoireEntre héritage et modernité

La troisième génération arrive avec Patrick, le fils de la famille, qui dès ses premiers pas, suivait son père dans les vignes. Suite à des études viticoles, Patrick intègre l’exploitation en 1988 et après quelques années de travail auprès de ses parents, il reprend l’exploitation en 1991 alors que Gaston prend sa retraite. Pourtant 1991 est une année particulière, Patrick épouse Martine en mai et le mois précédant la vigne gèle, la récolte est alors anéantie. Débuts difficiles ! Mais Patrick et Martine vont passer ce cap avec courage et ambition, et années après années, avec l’expérience et le savoir-faire acquis des générations précédentes, agrémentés des techniques modernes du travail de la vigne et du travail en cave, ils vont faire évoluer cette exploitation familiale.

Le Domaine de la Rebourgère au présent

La devise de la famille, c’est le travail bien fait, la rigueur et la qualité irréprochable du vin, plusieurs fois récompensé par des médailles d’or, d’argent ou de bronze, aux différents concours des vins de Paris, Mâcon, Nantes, Vertou et Maisdon-sur-Sèvre. Aujourd’hui le Domaine de la Rebourgère c’est 38 hectares de vigne en culture raisonnée, 60% de la récolte en vente directe, la diversification de la gamme des vins. Patrick est au façonnage de la vigne, à la vinification et à la commercialisation, Martine au travail de la cave, à la préparation des commandes, aux démarches administratives et à la comptabilité. Et voilà qu’avec Guillaume le fils de Patrick et Martine, arrive la 4e génération. Depuis 2013 et après des études viticoles et commerciales, il travaille avec ses parents sur l’exploitation en alliant, comme son père avant lui tradition et modernité.